India Celebrates T20 World Cup Victory: Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli Announce Their T20I Retirements

Business View
5 Min Read
India Celebrates T20 World Cup Victory: Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli Announce Their T20I Retirements

T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli Announce Their Retirements

India won the 2024 T20 world cup on Saturday, following this historic win Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli announced their T20I retirements. Ravindra Jadeja joined them in retirement. Rahul Dravid steps down as the coach of the Indian cricket team after this being his final match. 

On Saturday, 29 June the India Cricket Team won the 2024 T20 World Cup in Barbados. This served as a historic win as this was India’s first world title in 13 years. Prime Minister Narendra Modi reacted to this remarkable feat. Cricket legends like Sachin Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni shared their joy for this victory. 

This victory had a lasting impact on fans and viewers alike as the match unfolded in a nail-biting progression. India won the toss and went ahead with batting. India lost three early wickets to South Africa with Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, and Suryakumar Yadav. The situation was brought under control by Virat Kohli and Axar Patel’s 72-run partnership. Kohli played an innings of 76 runs with an initial partnership with Patel who contributed 47 runs and a late contribution of 27 runs by Shivam Dube. Together they helped India reach 176 runs with 7 wickets down. This served as the highest first-innings total in a T20 world cup final. South Africa’s innings began with two early wicket losses. Quinton de Kock and Tristan Stubbs took the total to 106 before leaving the field.  Heinrich Klaasen made the fastest fifty in a World Cup final. He scored an applaud-worthy 24 runs off the 15th over bowled by Axar Patel.   

The Indian cricket team was close to slipping the chance at the trophy as South Africa needed just 30 runs from 30 balls at one point in the match. Heinrich Klaasen, the South African batsman known for his belligerent six-hitting, scored a feat of 52 runs on 27 balls. This performance gave South Africa a winning edge. However, the Indian team rose on occasion to provide a balanced competition. Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Hardik Pandya shared seven wickets between them. In the last five overs, these three players pulled off an economical feat. In the 17th over, Pandya picked up the wicket of Klaasen. Marco Jansen was dismissed by Bumrah in the 18th over. On the first ball of the final over, Pandya dismissed David Miller, the last recognized batsman of the South Africa Team. At the end of twenty overs, the Indian team’s score was 176 with seven wickets down, while South Africa’s score was 169 with eight wickets down. India won the match by 7 runs.

This is India’s second T20 world cup title win after the 2007 win. In the last few years, India has lost the 50-over World Cup final and the World Test Championship final twice. In 2014, India lost the T20 world cup title to Sri Lanka in the final, breaking a million Indian hearts.. This T20 victory fueled a celebration among Indian cricket fans. BCCI announced a whopping Rs 125 crore prize money for the national team on Sunday. 

Also Read: India Vs SA Women- Smriti Mandhana’s Record-Breaking 136 Runs

Amidst the celebration, the fans received heartbreaking news as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja announced their retirement bringing an end to their T20I career. The three players will continue playing in other formats. This is an emotional time for the players and the cricket lovers, as these three are widely loved and acclaimed crickets of India. This match also served as the final game for Rahul Dravid as a coach.

Share This Article