India’s Rohit Sharma Surpasses Dhoni as Most Successful T20I Captain

Business View
4 Min Read
India's Rohit Sharma Surpasses Dhoni as Most Successful T20I Captain

India Vs Afghanistan T20 2024 : Rohit Sharma Surpasses Dhoni as Most Successful T20I Captain

Wednesday’s night was a blast for cricket lovers. The aggressive match of India against Afghanistan had created a buzz among onlookers from both sides. Even after the match, netizens are talking about the fiery match and appreciating players for their wonderful game playing. However, Rohit Sharma is trending on social media after creating history after surpassing the former captain of the Indian cricket team. Rohit has owned the title of the most successful T20I captain of India after MS Dhoni. He created this history after the winning match against Afghanistan on 17th January 2024 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. 

Noteworthy, India faced off against Afghanistan in T20I in yesterday’s match. Team India’s skipper made a fiery return to T201s after a short gap of over 14 months. Rohit has registered 42 wins in 54 matches and surpassed Dhoni who had 41 wins while in the captain’s position. It is worth noting that MS Dhoni owns the title of 41 winning in 73 matches whereas the current skipper of India’s team made a streak of 42 wins in just 54 matches. Here is a look at the winnings of the Indian captains in the T20I:


  • With 42 wins in 54 matches, Rohit Sharma has owned the 1st position
  • 2nd position is held by MS Dhoni with 41 wins in 73 matches 
  • Virat Kohli has won 30 wins against 50 matches which placed him in 3rd position

Let’s have a look at Wednesday’s match. Rohit Sharma wrote his name in the annals of cricket history by making a record 5th T20 International century. This astonishing win was obtained during the 3rd and last match, the Indian team in Bengaluru. The start of India was a bit slow but soon India’s skipper turned the tables and bagged the title of the winner. The match began with India’s batting who won the toss. The Indian team decided to do batting first so that the team displayed themselves a different challenge. However, the starting was shabby and he made 22/4 in 4.3 overs. 

However soon the table turned and India made the score of 212/4 with the help of skipper Rohit Sharma who had earlier failed to make a score in previous matches of T20I. Rohit Sharma has showcased wonderful game playing and remained on the ground on 121*. The knock of Rohit dwarfed the effort of Rinku Singh who made a streak of sixes to wind up the innings of the Indian team. His efforts were equally responsible for winning the match. Rohit Sharma had taken a lesson from his poor game playing which was visible in yesterday’s match. This win helped the India team skipper to become a mere international player who managed to get the 5th T20I 100. 

BCCI has officially made a post regarding the winning of the Indian team. The post reads “#TeamIndia Captain @ImRo45 receives the trophy after a dramatic end to the #INDvAFG T20I series. India win the T20I series 3-0.” Noteworthy that only 2 other captains of India have made their victories in T20I in double-figures as former captain, Virat Kohli has bagged 30 wins in 50 matches whereas Hardik Pandya has 10 wins in 16 fixtures. Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, and Suryakumar Yadav have also played their matches. This win was particularly the victory of Rohit Sharma and Rinku Singh.

Share This Article