Top 7 richest T20 cricket league in the world 2024

Business View
9 Min Read

The popularity of cricket has seen new heights in the last decade or so. With great cricketers and exciting new tournaments, the cricket league scene is growing year by year. Its popularity has made cricket one of the most profitable industries in the world. The profit turnover of these franchises is proven by the continuation and growth of these tournaments year by year. The IPL has become a huge business in today’s date. Players earn huge amounts for each season. The investors of these franchises grow every year because the returns on these tournaments grow every year. With the groundbreaking success of the IPL, many countries have come up with their own T20 leagues in the past few years. 

Here is our list of the Top 7 richest T20 cricket leagues in the world in 2024:


1. Indian Premier League ( IPL)

The best, biggest,most popular and richest cricket league in the world is none other than the Indian Premier League aka IPL. The sheer fan following of IPL is huge. Starting back in 2008, today the viewership of IPL matches is tremendous. The biggest league in India is making news worldwide. Indian Premier League is a celebration for its fans, it is no less than a festival in India. It is only obvious that the Indian Premier League is the biggest cricket league in the World given that Indians comprise the biggest percentage of cricket enthusiasts in the world. The league hosts a total of ten teams based on different Indian cities- Chennai Super Kings from Tamil Nadu, Delhi Capitals from Delhi, Gujrat Titans from Gujrat, Kolkata Knight Riders from West Bengal, Lucknow Super Giants from Uttar Pradesh, Mumbai Indians from Maharastra, Punjab Kings from Punjab, Rajasthan Royals from Rajasthan, Royal Challengers Bengaluru from Karnataka and Sunrise Hyderabad from Telangana. There were five more teams that no longer feature in the tournament. These teams feature players from all over the country and the world. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have the most tournaments in their name, both teams have five wins on their name. In 2021, the winner’s prize money was set at INR 20 crore.


2. Lanka Premier League (LPL)

The LPL was established in 2020 with five teams competing for the title. It is one of the Biggest T20 cricket league. Intended to commence in 2018, it was delayed by Sri Lanka Cricket. There have been four seasons of the tournament in 2023. The winner of the 2023 Lanka Premier League was team B-Love Kandy who won the title after defeating the Dambulla Thunders in the final. The five teams are Colombo Strikers from the Western Province, Dambulla Thunders from the Central Province, Galle Marvels from the Southern Province, Jaffna Kings from the Northern Province, and B-Love Kandy from the Central Province. The winners of 2023 LPL received the prize money of INR 8.34 crore.


3. Caribbean Premier League (CPL)

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) started in 2013. CPL is one of the richest cricket league This annual tournament held in the Caribbean was founded by Cricket West Indies to replace Caribbean Twenty20. West Indies has some of the best cricketers in the world, players like Chris Gayle, and Andre Russell, and many more. With Shahrukh Khan investing in the Tribbango Knight Riders, the tournament got a boost in popularity. CPL has a total of six teams – Tribango Knight Riders, Jamaica Tallawahs, Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, and Saint Lucia Kings. Trianbango Knight Riders are the most successful team with 4 title wins. The prize money of the BBL tournament. The prize money of a CPL tournament is INR 8.14 crores. 


4. UAE: International T20 League (ILT20) 

The ILT20 was started in the year 2023 by its administrators the Emirates Cricket Board. It holds a total of six teams for the tournament: Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, Desert Vipers, Dubai Capotals, Gulf Giants, MI Emirates, and Sharjah Warriors. There have been two seasons of the tournament. The 2023 winner was Gulf Giants and the 2024 winner was MI Emirates. The prize money received by the winners was INR 5.80 Crore. 


5. Big Bash League (BBL)

Australia’s version of T20 cricket league is the Big Bash League. It was started in 2011, after being inspired by IPL. The intricacies of both cricket leagues are similar, with teams named after states. BBLs are just as huge in Australia as IPLs are in India. They are a yearly event and are available in shorter formats like T10.BBLs take place during December, January, and February. There are a total of eight teams in this tournament – Adelaide Strikes from South Australia, Brisbane Heat from Queensland, Hobart Hurricanes from Tasmania, Melbourne Stars from Victoria, Melbourne Renegades from Victoria, Perth Scorchers from Western Australia, Sydney Sixers from South Wales and Sydney Thunder from New South Wales. Six teams out of eight have won the tournament at least once. The Perth Scorchers have won the title five times making them the most successful out of teams. The prize money of a BBL tournament is INR 3.75 crores. 


6. Pakistan Super League (PSL)

Newer than many on this list the Pakistan Super Leahur started in 2016 but crossed all limits of popularity in Pakistan. This T20 cricket league was widely received by the audience and thoroughly enjoyed. The PSL is an entertaining event with skilled Pakistani players showcasing their talent. Pakistan Cricket Board founded the league in 2015 and so far there have been 9 seasons of the league. The most successful team in PSL is Islamabad United. The only team to successfully defend its title is Lahore Qalandars. The total number of teams in this tournament is six: Islamabad United, Karachi Kings Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators. The prize money of a PSL tournament is INR 3.67 crores. 


7. Vitality Blast (T20 Blast)

T20 Blast is the competition for English and Welsh first-class countries. This tournament was established in 2003 by the England and Wales Cricket Board. This tournament has had many names due to commercial sponsorship. The competition format is such that 18 first- lass countries compete for the title playing in two or three geographical divisions. The Prize money for the winners in 2020 was set at INR 1.80 crore.

Also Check:- Top 7 Richest Cricket Boards in the World 2024

Top 10 Richest Cricketer in India 2024


Cricket has become huge in today’s world. With billions of people watching and applauding the game, its business keeps growing with time. We hope to see more additions to the list of T20 tournaments in the coming years. Till then this was our list of the Top 7 richest T20 cricket league in the world 2024.

Share This Article