Excitement Builds as IPL 2024 Opening Ceremony Approaches

Business View
4 Min Read

As the nation gears up for the seventeenth IPL tournament today, 22 March, there has been a huge wave of excitement. Scheduled at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, IPL 2024’s opening ceremony will be an evening to remember with legendary artists and musicians from the Bollywood industry. 

The opening ceremony will start at 6:30 p.m. IST for 30 minutes. Star performers Akshay Kumar, Tiger Shroff, Sonu Nigam, A.R. Rahman, and DJ Axwell will be seen performing today before the opening match. The IPL schedule 2024 will be kick-started with the first face-off between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

To build the excitement even more, an official post on X (previously known as Twitter) read, “The stage is set, the lights are bright, and the stars are ready to shine at the TATA IPL 2024 opening ceremony! Get ready for an unforgettable fusion of cricket and entertainment ft. a stellar lineup! 22nd March, 6:30 pm onwards.”

The CSK Vs RCB match will start at 8 p.m. sharp, whereas the toss has been shifted between 7:00 p.m.-7:30  p.m. Viewers can enjoy the live streaming of the match on the JioCinema app and website, and will be telecasted on the official channels of Star Sports Network.

The eight-week-long tournament is the only time India waits for the most throughout the year. This year the Tata Group won the sponsorship rights for IPL 2024  for 25 billion rupees in January. Mukesh Ambani’s media company had undertaken the streaming rights for 2,7 billion dollars in 2022 for five years. 

The Indian Premier League started in 2008 with some 8 teams. The winner for the first season was the team of Rajasthan Royals. In 2022, two teams were added to the tournament, making it a total of ten teams.


Also Check:- NEET PG 2024 Exam: New Schedule Released

Important Insights about IPL 2024


The IPL 2024 will be Virat Kohli’s comeback after a break of two months, as his team RCB faces the opening against the five-time winning team of CSK on 22 March. After his last IPL in 2023, he only played two T20s against Afghanistan in January, after which he went on a halt for 60 days. Kohli is the first batter in IPL’s history with the maximum number of runs, precisely 7263 in 237 outings.

For the unversed, CSK captain and former Indian Cricket team captain MS Dhoni stepped down from the role of captaincy on Thursday, March 21, leaving fans in discontentment and sadness with his decision. Speculations also have this saying that the much-adored and respected player will announce his retirement from IPL by the end of this season. Reportedly, Dhoni has handed over the command of his team to Ruturaj Gaikwad, who from now onwards will head the team in IPL. 

Rohit Sharma was also removed from Mumbai Indians’ captaincy and was replaced by Hardik Pandya. This year is going to be a huge game-changer in the history of IPL, unfolding new stories with every game.

Also Read :- Top 7 Richest Cricket Boards in the World 2024

Share This Article