Record-Breaking Innings: Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Triumph over Mumbai Indians in IPL 2024

Business View
4 Min Read

Sunrisers Hyderabad makes history in the Indian Premier League by setting the highest runs against its opponent team, Mumbai Indians on Wednesday. The total on which it ended the innings was 277/3 in its span of 20 overs. The outstanding performances were those of Heinrich Klaasen (80 not out off 34), Abhishek Sharma (63 off 23), and Travis Head (62 off 24). This record marks the second defeat of the team of Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2024 tournament. 

The record for the highest team total was previously held by Royal Challengers Bangalore with a score of 263/5, against the now non-existent team of Pune Warriors India, back in 2013. Abhishek Sharma stole the spotlight of the match by slamming the fastest fifty, by a SRH batter. Heinrich Klaasen achieved his half-century in 23 balls, while the same was attained by Travis Head in 18 balls. Together SRH and MI completed the match with a combined total of 523 runs, making it the most in a single IPL match.  

The team of SRH set new records in its match against MI on Wednesday, setting the bar high for itself and its opponent teams. Travis Head broke the record of David Warner recording the fastest fifty by an SRH batter; by completing it in 18 balls. Moments later, Abhishek Sharma exceeded Head’s record by completing his fastest fifty within a span of 16 balls. The match concluded with MI securing a total of 246 runs on the loss of 5 wickets, having been left behind by SRH with a whopping difference of 31 runs. 

Besides, Rohit Sharma played his 200th IPL match with Mumbai Indians, for which former Indian Cricket Team captain and mentor of the team, gifted him a jersey highlighting his achievements and contributions for MI. While the Hardik Pandya-led team couldn’t make it to the victory side, Mumbai Indians still gave a tough fight to SRH.

Further breaking records, Wednesday’s IPL match recorded the highest number of sixes in the history of the tournament. 38 sixes were recorded from both sides, making it the first T20 match with that much amount. The match took place at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. 

IPL 2024

The Indian Premier League 2024 kickstarted on March 22, 2024, marking the seventeenth consecutive season of the tournament. It started with an open ceremony that witnessed performances from eminent artists of the Bollywood film and music industry such as Akshay Kumar, Tiger Shroff, A.R. Rahman, and Sonu Nigam. The event was followed by the inaugural match between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The first match was won by Chennai Super Kings, who defeated their opponents by 63 runs. 

Due to the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2024, the IPL 2024 has been divided into different phases and the schedule for the first phase has been released by the organizers which would last till April 7. 

As the tournament continues to stir excitement for all IPL fans, the SRH team is basking over the success of its victory over Mumbai Indians, while it also prepares itself to face Gujarat on March 31, Sunday at the Narendra Modi Stadium.

Also Check :- Top 7 Richest Cricket Boards in the World 2024

Share This Article